What We’re Excited About: June’s New Books

Sarah’s List

While Becky picked some great upcoming/recently released books, *cough* Long Game by JL Barnes (we’re besties like that, yea let’s go with that), *cough* Kiersten White and Kody Kiplinger *cough, cough.* There are many other new books that I am clamoring for.

251644372483251826795312

What Happens Now by Jennifer Castle
Release Date: June 7, 2016

This book sounds the like perfect angsty summer read. Ari is dealing with alot of personal and family drama, which includes but is not limited to her depression, taking care of her sister, and her absent mother. Throw in a love interest and you have what I am craving. There appears to be a layer of sci-fi geek culture, which is the quickest way to the top of my TBR shelf. Castle’s previous novel, You Look Different In Real Life, was pretty fluffy, but good. I am looking forward to seeing how things turn out in this new book.

The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love by Sarvenaz Tash
Release Date: June 7, 2016

Geekery! I love geeks in most forms. This novel sounds like the awesome culmination of an 80s movie and Con culture. Yes, please! I am ready for pop culture references and cosplay. I have not read anything by this author before, so who knows what this adventure will lead to.

Goldfish by Nat Luurtsema
Release Date: June 7, 2016

Dreams burned, or that’s what I expect here. Lou’s dreams of becoming an Olympic swimmer are dashed. Sounds like this book is going to have an underdog hero with boys in spades. Okay!

Life Before by Michele Bacon
Release Date: June 7, 2016

I am not quite sure if this is going to be a sci-fi book or one about misplaced immigrants (I am hoping for the latter). The cover looks intriguing. Who is running from what!? While this is the author’s first book, she her goodreads ratings are on par with books I like (This Is Where It Ends by Marjeke Nijkamp and Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer). 

The Leaving by Tara Altebrando
Release Date: June 7, 2016

Missing children returned years later. The world has moved on and the returned teens remember nothing. Bum bum bummmmmm! It could be awesome or terrible. Most times books like these are terrible, but I choose to be positive. This author is new to me, but not new to the YA world. I have hope.

Leave a Reply

