Things We’re Excited About: July New Books!

Happy July!  A new month brings with it a whole new crop of awesome YA books! 
Check out our lists for the top five new releases for July, 2016.  



Becky’s List
I’ll be honest.  July’s offering are a little slim but I found five books that have been added to my must read list.
                                     


P.S. I Like You by Kasie West
Release Date: July 26
I love Kasie West’s books.  They’re just classic YA romances at their best. If you’re ever looking for a fast and fun read that doesn’t take a lot of mental heavy lifting check out one of her books.  P.S. I Love You should not disappoint.  Lily writes a note on her desk in chemistry and she gets a note back.  Insert flirty, fun notes that lead to a crush that may lead to love…which all adds up to be a perfect fluffy romance.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne 
& John Tiffany 
Release Date: July 31
This is the story of grown-up Harry’s life including a peek into his children’s experience at Hogwarts. How can any Harry Potter fan not put this at the top of their TBR shelf?



Flying by Carrie Jones
Release Date: July 19
Mana is the coddled perfect cheerleader until one day she discovers her mother is an alien hunter and she now must hunt little green men.  Cheerleader alien hunter=AWESOME!  If this new series is anything like Jones’ Need series I am going to be hooked.

Smash & Grab by Amy Christine Parker 
Release Date: July 19
Lexi is a rich girl who loves a good adrenaline rush.  Christian is a boy from the wrong side of the tracks.  Their stories merge when they both make plans to rob the same bank.  I LOVE a good heist book so I have high hopes for this one.  Finger’s crossed that it delivers on romance, adventure and snark.

Little Black Dresses, Little White Lies by Laura Stampler
Release Date: July 19
Harper Anderson is a girl from a small town that has just landed her dream job as a relationship blogger for the magazine Shift.  Harper is immediately transported to New York city filled with high fashion of dreamy boys.  The only problem is that Harper has no dating experience.  Can she find enough romance to fill her blog?  Oh, I do hope so and I hope that it is going to be swoon worthy.

Sarah’s List
These July books are looking rough. I am having trouble finding anything that isn’t the sequel to a series or sounds even vaguely interesting. However, after carefully scouring various hidden haunts of the internet, I was able to dig up five.

I love Kasie West for a no expectations, no attachments, fluffy, easy read. I am looking forward to her new book, but I have five others that are moving fast to the top of my TBR shelf. I have also added  LBDLWL by Stampler to my TBR shelf.

27405351

How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather
Release Date: July 26

Samantha Mather and her mom move to Salem, Massachusetts, but have a difficult time fitting in with the community. As it turns out, Sam is a descendant of Cotton Mather, the guy who kicked off the whole Salem Witch Trial thing.  For some unknown/weird reason, a clique of popular girls at the local high school has decided to spurn Sam in retribution for their own descendants (who were obviously the witches killed during the trials). There are curses, ghosts, and a cycle of witch trials involved. The publisher insists that it is like Katherine Howe’s Conversion, which I absolutely loved, so I am willing to give this novel a try.

                                                              

The Memory Book by Lara Avery
Release Date: July 5
Another book about a Sam- weird! This Samantha, or Sammie, has a rare genetic disorder, which will soon begin to effect her memories. Well, it will eventually kill her, but the memory goes first. In effort to hold on to what she can, Sammie begins collecting mementos of her memories. Also, her crush, a writer, is going to help her write her stories. It seems that this will include mixed media, like journal entries and friend comments, which I am always drawn to (mixed media always makes the book feel more real). Sounds like a good romance about living life to the fullest, I expect tears and beautiful heart pangs. Also, I unwittingly, have a video featuring her year old book,  A Million Miles Away, which is about a twin who dies and her sister pretending that the twin is still alive for the boyfriend who is a soldier in Afghanistan. It was also a heart panging romance. Keep an eye out for both the upcoming video about A Million Miles Away and Avery’s new book.

Defending Taylor by Miranda Keneally
Release Date: July 5
Senator’s daughter is supremely burned by her ex-boyfriend, to the point that she is kicked out of her private school. Now she must go to PUBLIC school! Egad! How can anyone survive?! Taylor is figuring it out, finding her place on her new soccer team and chasing down new love interests. Seems like a standard romcom novel.

Re:ZERO -Starting Life in Another World- (Book 1) by Tappei Nagatsuki and illustrated by Shinchirou Otsuka
Release Date: July 19
I love me some manga. This new series sounds like it is right up my alley. Subaru is transported to another world, while on his way to the convenience store. He gets a new time traveling super power that somehow involves his death (kinda confused about that part). However, there are many mystical creatures involved, so yay! I am also assuming that there will be some sort of fight between good and evil, cuz that’s just what you expect to find. 




Poor Unfortunate Soul: A Tale of the Sea Witch         by Serena Valentino
Release Date: July 26
How have I never heard of this series before?! I am absolutely obsessed with all things Disney, and the art on this cover is just to die for. This is supposed to be a retelling of the Little Mermaid from Ursula’s perspective. I guess I have a new rabbit hole to dive into this weekend.

Leave a Reply

