Reading Decathlon: Going for the Gold!

Hi Everyone it’s Becky!  Just like Sarah I participated in the Epic Reads Reading Decathlon and I am proud to say that I did achieve gold with 10 books in 10 days!  Okay, so I just barely made it with a quick save by a book-in-verse on Day 10 and a couple of quick audiobooks but I did get there and I am here to share my list with you.  BTW, you may notice some overlap with Sarah’s list which may give you a clue to what books we will be reviewing soon on the vlog.

Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld
Is it wrong that my first book in the decathlon was adult fic? This is a modern day update of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice that takes place in Cincinnati with Elizabeth now being
called Liz and is a journalist and Darcy is a neurosurgeon.  I thought the update of the classic love story of Darcy and Elizabeth was great and felt true to the original however I didn’t really appreciate the modern version of Elizabeth’s sisters and their wacky hi-jinks.

Final Rating: One Fairy


PS I Like You by Kasie West
Lily doesn’t fit in at school.  She is the girl that sits in class and makes up song lyrics in her notebook.  That is until a teacher takes away her notebook and Lily is forced to jot down her thoughts on her desk.  The next day the lyrics are finished by another student.  Soon the two are writing notes and exchanging their thought and feeling they would never tell anyone else.  Lily has to decide does she want to solve the mystery of her anonymous pen pal or is this mystery better left unsolved.  This one is super cute and super quick.  I’m a fan of Kasie West’s books and this one did not disappoint.  It’s just the right amount of adorable and flirty.

Final Rating: Two Fairies


How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather
Sam is a descendant of Cotton Mather the man who started the Salem Witch Trials.  Her whole life her father has kept her away from Salem however after a family tragedy Sam must move to her father’s hometown where she uncovers a mystery that dates back to the legendary trials.  I really wanted to like this book but I just really didn’t.  There was something very amateur about the dialog and character development.  Added to the fact that twist and turns felt predictable and resolution of the mystery felt obvious from about a third of the way through the book I was just very disappointed by the whole thing.

Final Rating: Two Goblins



                                         





   
The Visions Series By Lisa McMann (Crash, Bang, and Gasp)
Jules is being haunted by visions of a terrible accident.  She knows she must stop it before it claim anyone’s life but can she?  That’s a really vague description of the series because I really don’t want to give away any spoilers.  I had read each book individual when they came out and this was the first time I read them as a group and they are so worth a second read.  I love Jules and her determination.  Her siblings, Trey and Rowan, are hilarious.  Plus, Sawyer is just swoon worthy.  The books are so quick and fast paced that you could conquer the series in a day and you would have no regrets.

Series final rating: One Unicorn

The Clatter of Jars by Lisa Graff
I will admit this was an audiobook that I listened to because it was short and already on my iPod but I also have to admit it was extremely cute.  The story takes place at a camp for kids who have special talents.  Some of them can talk to frogs, some can bake emotions, some can read mind, and others can steal talents.  When the Camp Director tries to use the campers talents for her own agenda a group of campers band together to stop her.  This book was a cute, quick book that would be great for the tween/middle grade readers.  All of the characters are scrapy and the evil intentions are just evil enough to be intriguing but not quite so evil to make the book scary.

Final Rating: One Fairy


Winning by Lara Deloza
Alexandria Miles has a plan to get out of her small town and it includes becoming Homecoming Queen.  Everything is working perfectly until a new girl in school threatens her chance at the crown.  Alexandria decides she will hatch whatever caper is necessary to win just as a group of her classmates decide they will do whatever it takes to stop her.  I can’t quite pinpoint my problem with this book.  It may be that I found none of the characters likable.  The only character I even slightly softened to was Alexandria and I couldn’t decide if Deloza was trying to paint her a villain or a victor.  There were piece of a good book here but they just didn’t quite fit together right.

Final Rating: Two Goblins


Under the Lights by Abbi Glines
Willa, Gunner, and Brady used to be best friends but their friendship died when Willa’s mother moved her away.  Now it’s five years later and Willa’s back and she brings with her a complicated love triangle.  So here is a confession…I love soap operas.  Like I used to be totally addicted.  This addiction has not died with the cancellation of my stories.  I am always in search of a good soap opera and no one delivers quite as well as Abbi Glines.  Under the Lights is a classic Gline’s book.  There is drama, kissing, and heartbreak and tied together with a perfectly happily-ever-after.  If you’re a fan of Abbi Glines you will be a fan of Under the Lights.  Plus, added bonus, I feel like this might be her first book to feature a true love triangle.  She has flirted with a triangle before but never quite to this degree.

Final Rating: Two Fairies


The Realm of Possibilities by David Levithan
A series of interlocking poems that tell the different characters experience of love.  This is the book-in-verse I checked out at the last minute because I had less than 24 hours left and I just needed one more book.  I don’t know if it was the e-book format or if my brain was tired but I didn’t quite understand how all the pieces fit together.  However, Levithan’s words were beautiful and many of the chapters were able to stand alone as a type of lyrical novella.

Final Rating: One Fairy


So there you have it! Ten books in ten days! #readingforgold



Leave a Reply

