Best of Book Expo of America: ARCs Editions

Hi Everyone!  It’s Becky.  This is going to be my last post about the wacky adventure that was Book Expo of America.  I saved the best for last which, of course, means today I’m going to share with you my top five ARCS from BEA.

33784373Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco
Release Date: September 19, 2017
Victorian detective Audrey Rose Wadsworth is back and I am so very excited about it!  Audrey Rose and her love interest Thomas Cresswell have left the safety of England for the dark heart of Romania to fulfill Audrey Rose’s dream of studying forensic science.  However, once in Romania Audrey Rose discovery a series of grisly murders.  Does Audrey Rose have what it takes to solve another murder?

I totally love “Stalking Jack the Ripper”.  It was one of my surprise favorites of last year so I was thrilled when I found this ARC at the Little Brown Books booth.  I am hoping for ghastly descriptions and a swoony romance and I know Maniscalco will deliver.

All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater
Release Date: October 10, 201730025336
The town of Bicho Raro is like no other.  It is filled dark landscapes and miracles.  The Soria family is the heart of Bicho Raro and they have the ability to perform miracles.  There are three Soria cousins who are all waiting for their own miracles.

This was one of the most coveted ARCs at Book Expo and I happily stood in line to get my copy.  I will admit I don’t actually understand what the story is about but I don’t really care.  After the brilliance of “The Raven Cycle” I will read anything Stiefvater puts on paper.

33163378

Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu
Release Date: September 19, 2017
Vivian Carter is sick of her small town school with its sexist dress code, football team that gets away with whatever they want and classmates that get away with making inapproriate comments during class.  Vivain wants to take control and be like her mother who was a punk rock Riot Grrll in the 90s.  Vivian decides to start a feminist zine just to blow off steam but ends up starting her own revolution.

This ARC was guarded at BEA and was one of the few ARCs that were hand distributed by the publishers.  I love the idea of a girl power fueled revolution.  Plus, That cover is perfect!

The Afterlife of Holly Chase by Cynthia Hand33843251
Release Date: November 7, 2017
Five years ago Holly Chase was visited by ghosts on Christmas Eve to try to convince her to change her spoiled ways.  Holly didn’t change then she died.  Now, she is the forced to work at Project Scrooge as the new Ghost of Christmas Past.  This year, however, everything may change.

It’s a Christmas book!  I am willing to read almost anything about Christmas and this new take on the Dickens’ classic seems like it’s going to be sassy and hilarious.  I’m looking foward to enjoying a little bit of Christmas this summer when I devour the new book from one of the authors of “My Lady Jane”.

 

34027316Hide From Me by Mary Lindsey
Release Date: November 7, 2017
Something isn’t right in Rain Ryland’s new hometown. The town appears to be a normal close knit community but there is something  wrong lurking just under the surface.  The entire town is hiding something especially Friederike, the hottest girl in town, who Rain is desperate to learn more about.  Will Rain be able to uncover the secrets of his new home or will he die trying?

I loved Lindsey’s “Shatter Me” series and I was thrilled to get to meet the author and get this signed ARC.  I’m sure it’s going to spooky and romantic and chocked full of must read-ness.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

