New Book: Dark Breaks the Dawn by Sara B. Larson

Howdy everyone, it’s Sarah!

I have been impatiently awaiting the release of this book. I loved Larson’s previous series and have high hopes for her new one. The cover and title are beautiful and I could be sold on those alone. After reading it, I am still not sure where I fall with this series.

29283751

Princess Evelayn is turning 18, which means she will be able to fully access her power. Her kingdom has been in a long battle with the dark kingdom, with many fatalities on both sides. After both parents are lost to the war, Evelayn is forced into power long before she ever expected to be. Evelayn wants to end the bloodshed and with her advisors, a cute guy, and priestesses, she just may develop plan to either save her kingdom or leave them in the worst place ever.

I think I like the main character, I guess I wish I knew more about her. She presents this mask to her kingdom, but I feel that it also kind of impacted my ability to connect with her too. I found myself more compelled and attracted by the villain, as opposed to her actual love interest. I want to know more about the villains because I think the better story is there. This novel is a retell of the swan lake myth, but I was having trouble making that connection. I will totally need to revisit that myth. I think I missed the main point of the book the first time through, I am going to give it another try and see if my feelings change. I really wanted to like this book, but it wasn’t as crazy awesome as her first book. Maybe I just read it in a cranky mood…. What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

