What We’re Excited About: July Books!

Happy July everyone!  It’s that perfect month in summer filled with barbecues, fireworks, and warm nights.  It’s also the perfect time of the summer for new books.  Here are a list of just a few the books being released in July that we’re excited about.

Becky’s List
23865291

All Closed Off by Cora Carmack
I know this one isn’t really a teen book but it is the highly anticipated fourth book in the Rusk University series.  We are finally getting Stella and Ryan’s story and I can’t wait to read it! Will Stella be able to over come what happened to her in “All Broke Down” to claim Ryan’s heart or will she lose him to a new girl.  Sounds like all sorts of drama and romance which puts it at the top of my must read list.

Coming Up for Air by Miranda Kenneally32470593
Release Date July 4
There is a new Hundred Oaks book and I’m bubbling over with excitement.  I have to first confess that I have actually already read this book (Thanks Sourcebooks and Netgalley!) but that is why I can tell you it is perfect if you’re a fan of Kenneally’s books.  This time we are following the story of Maggie and her best friend Levi as they try to qualify for the olympic swimming team.  At the same time Maggie decides she want to learn the art of the hook-up and asks her more experienced best friend to teach her.  “Coming Up For Air” is like all of Kenneally’s other books and perfectly blends romance with coming of age drama, and adds a dash of sports intrigue.  Plus, for longtime fans you get a peek into Jordan and Sam’s life from Kenneally’s first book “Catching Jordan” which was perfect because according to the nice Sourcebook people at BEA this will be the end of the Hundred Oaks series.

31702754

Enhanced by Carrie Jones
Release Date July 25
Cheerleader/alien hunter Mana is back and she is on a mission.  Mana’s mother, or the super alien fighter, is still in a coma and no one (not Mana’s almost boyfriend Lyle, or her BFF Seppie, or her mother’s partner China) are willing to help Mana defuse the impending alien threat.  Mana know everyone’s still in danger and she’s willing to do what it takes to step their impending doom.

I will admit that I was crazy about the first book in this series but I loved Jones’ “Need” series so I’m sticking with Mana and her exterrestrial adventure.

Sarah’s List

Little Monsters by Kara Thomas

Release Date: July 25

32320750

I know that anyone with bookish tendencies will tell you not to judge a book by its cover, but the cover of this book is just compelling! I have never read anything by this author before, but that cover totally sucked me in.

Kacey moves to a new town, where everyone is welcoming…even her step siblings! Everything is going great, until Kasey’s new friends start acting weird. They don’t invite her to this big party that ends with someone dead. The town can no longer hold back their secrets and things are becoming sinister. For some reason, the town is looking to Kacey for answers. What in the world is going on in this town!?

 

Waste of Space by Gina Damico

Release Date July 11

28473381

I have been on a sci-fi kick recently, probably because the sci-fi books I have been reading are fantastic. When I found this potential newbie, I knew I had to read it.

Several teens are crammed into a space ship and their experiences are put on a reality show. I expect mean girls, love triangles, and serious pettiness for the show. However, as the trip continues, communication is severed and the teens are stranded up in space. I expect this new level of terror to kick all of the petty issues up to deadly-ish issues. I have my popcorn ready and can’t wait to watch the drama unfold in this book.

 

32766757No Good Deed by Kara Connolly

Release Date July 18th

I frequently visit author websites to get updates about their new books and other stuffs..bios and randomness. Earlier this year, I was poring through one of my favorite author’s websites, Rosemary Clement-Moore. I occasionally check her blog, in hopes of hearing about a new novel (it has been awhile and I am going through withdrawals…though she should work at her own pace because whatever she is doing is working because her novels are made of amazing). I am ready for a new cheeky character who uses SAT words and kicks ass. While there, I uncovered this vague/not vague blog post about No Good Deed and Kara Connolly. I am of the belief that Connolly is a Clement-Moore pseudonym…I have not uncovered any proof of this other than the vague/not vague mention of the connection on Clement-Moore’s blog. I have added this book to my TBR shelf, informed the masses of librarian friends who are also eagerly awaiting a new Clement-Moore book. At this point, I would read anything by her because I know it will be great. If you have not been exposed to the wonder that is this author, stop reading this blog and pick up one of her books…I personally like the Goodnight Family series (Texas Gothic book one), but really anything will work.

No Good Deed is Robin Hood retell with a female protagonist…heck yes! An Olympic archer gets turned around in England and stumbles back in time to Nottingham and Sherwood Forest.  The main character, Ellie, takes up her outlaw identity and begins helping the poor…like you do, when you are Robin Hood. This is gonna be good!

One thought on “What We’re Excited About: July Books!

Leave a Reply

