Book Review: Breakaway by Cate Cameron

Hi Everyone!  It’s Becky, again and I am here to share with you a new YA romance that I got from Netgalley.  However, before I tell you about this book and my reaction to it I have to first make a confession.  I am a child of the eighties and entered my teen years in the nineties.  As many women my age I was slightly obsessed with the movie this movie:

MV5BMTY1ODkxMzY4NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjg5MzQyMQ@@._V1_

Yep, that is right.  My sister and I had almost every line from “The Cutting Edge” memorized by the time we reached our teen years.  We loved Kate and her stuck up ice skater ways.  We loved Doug and his blue collar hockey playing awesomeness.  We even loved their tough Russian coach with his possibly illegal moves.  But our favorite part was this classic moment:

b7e2ba7e09bc2b386919b9e958c2323f.jpg

I blame this childhood obsession as being the beginning of my love for all things hockey and figure skating especially romances that take place in one of the worlds.  So, with that explanation I present to you the book “Breakaway” by Cate Cameron.

35121411Dawn is a recent high school graduate waiting out the summer until she can start her first year at McGill University.  She wants to leave behind her small town life in Corrigan Falls, her dysfunctional relationship with her parents, and all things hockey related.  Logan is a former NHL star who after getting hurt in his first game has had to find a new passion in his life.  When the two meet sparks fly but they will have to find a way to get pass their issues to get to their their happily ever after.

This book was all sorts of swoon-worthy. It’s just a nice little romance.  I’m sure some people will say that it was predictable and to that I say “Maybe a little…but I don’t care!”.  Sometimes I just want a nice little romance that’s not filled with unnecessary drama.  Sometimes I want something simple and sweet and just a little sugary like the best of cookies and “Breakaway” is the book equivalent of a cookie.   Not super filling but still completely enjoyable and exactly what a good summer romance book should be.  The plot is fast paced and zips along so that it is possible to finish this book in one sitting.  Our love interests are likeable and surprisingly well developed for what could have been a cheesy romance.  I happily followed Dawn’s journey of trying to overcome her prejudice of hockey guys.  Logan was easy to like with his perfect blend of damaged mystery boy and flirty lover boy.   Plus, the romance focused on the ahhhhh sweet moments while having just the right amount of sparks to make this a great read for teens or adults who like teen books. This is apparently the fourth book in a series that I completely missed but I am planning on revisiting Corrigan Falls very soon.

Bottomline: If you’re looking for a fun and flirty romance to read this summer I highly recommend you give “Breakaway” a try.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5

I received an eARC of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

