New Book Review: The Hearts We Sold by Emily Lloyd-Jones

Hey all, it’s Sarah!

I have been combing through all of the look books from BEA, furiously paging through new releases on Goodreads, Barnes & Noble, and several of my weekly email feeds to find the best upcoming releases. The description of this book caught my eye. NetGalley made it possible for me to get my hands on this book early.

26309792

Summary:
In Dee Moreno’s world, demons are real and they are willing to make deals, for a price. Humans can enter into a covenant with a demon and by trading away a body part, they receive one wish. Demons totally skeev Dee out, so typically she avoids them. However, when the scholarship runs out at her fancy boarding school, she will do anything to avoid going home. Dee trades away her heart for 24 months, so that she has the money to afford school. Once heartless, she becomes part of a troop of heartless, who together to close portals to a dangerous other-realm. As Dee begins to navigate the rules of being heartless, she begins to develop friendships with the others. Plus, she begins to develop feelings for the raggedy looking James Lancer. Perhaps the two can work together to figure out the true motivations of the demons and get their hearts back early.

Review:
It was hard for me to get into this novel at first. The premise seemed weird and off putting, the characters were a bit off kilter and cold, but I am glad I stuck with it. Dee, her roommate Gremma, and potentially homeless James all grew on me. I thought Dee’s backstory added a unique and interesting layer to the narrative, with her abusive/negligent parents.  I think I enjoyed the twist, not completely unexpected and the way it was done kinda worked. Everything tied in together in a way that I could get on board with and enjoy. Also, the knitted hearts thing was weird at first…scratch that, it still is weird, but it started working for me after awhile. This book was different, but good different.

Rating:
animal-2023216_1280animal-2023216_1280animal-2023216_1280animal-2023216_1280

Leave a Reply

