ARC Review: Starry Eyes by Jenn Bennett

Hi Everyone!  It’s Becky.  I have been a huge fan of Jenn Bennett for years so I was over the moon excited when I found her new book “Starry Eyes” on Edelweiss.  I had high expectations for this one and I was not disappointed.

35297469Title: Starry Eyes
Author: Jenn Bennett

Summary: Zorie and Lennon used to be best friends but then they were almost more but  now, after last homecoming, they are enemies.  Zorie knows she should stay away from Lennon however she’s still drawn to him and when the two are stranded by their friends on a backcountry camping trip they must work together to find their way back to civilization.  But the more time they spend alone together the more their feels begin to resurface.  Can these two get over their past hurts to build a happy future?

Review: Oh, how I needed this book right now.  I have been in a major book slump reading several technically well written books that didn’t actually grab me or entertain me in anyway.  But then I picked up “Starry Eyes” and I was hooked from the first line.  This book was just fun.  Throughout the book I found myself laughing out loud and rooting for the romance of these two estranged once friends.  Their story was perfectly flirty with just a little wilderness camping to make it feel original.  Bennett once again brings realistic feeling characters with just a few issues to make them interesting.   Zorie and her hives and her family secrets felt realistic and wonderfully well developed without ever moving into the unbelievable annoying place that too many YA characters fall into.    Lennon was perfectly adorable and filled the role of boy next door and anghsty love perfectly.  He is dark and brooding but shameless in his flirty.  Their relationship is swoony and steamy and just a wee bit perfect.  Adding to the characters’ adorable perfection is a truly fun journey through middle of nowhere California that felt little fascinating, and added a wonderful level of adventure to what could have been an ordinary YA romance book.  All the pieces come together to make a YA romance with a dash of family issues that is a must read for fans of Sarah Dessen or Sarah Ockler.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s