TBR Thursday: Imagine Me by Tahereh Mafi

Hi Everyone!  It’s Becky, again.  I have had Image Me by Tahereh Mafi on my TBR list for months and I finally got a chance to read it.  Unfortunatly, this series that I once loved didn’t end with quite the bang that it deserved.

51106833._SX318_SY475_Title: Imagine Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Note: I listened to the audiobook.

Summary: Juliette Ferrars never existed.  She has always been Ella Sommers, a life she doesn’t remember.  Juliette is trying to merge her two lives and build a future with her love Warner.  However, everything changes when Juliette is taken by the Supreme Commanders and she finds herself in jeopardy.  Can Juliette find herself in time to save her life or is she doomed?

Review: When I read Shatter Me all the way back in 2011 I was blown away by Mafi’s dystopian world and amazing heroine.  Unfortunately, somewhere between book 3 and book 4, I started to lose interest in this series.  Don’t get me wrong.  Mafi is an incredible writer and the proses in Imagine Me is at times beautiful.  However, I found myself caring very little about Juliette/Ella.  Her struggle with her identity become very redundant and a little overdone.  I never cared about Juliette’s struggle with the supreme commanders and I didn’t care if and how she would save the world.  I, also, never really cared what happened to Kenji and Adam who both felt as if they were just there to pad the story and not actually do anything. The only bright part of the book for me was Aaron/Warner and his undying love for Juliette but even that was not enough to make me love this book.

Final Rating: 3 out of 5

Leave a comment