Middle Grade Book Review: Rump by Liesl Shurtliff

Hiya everyone, it’s Sarah!

The kids at my library are obsessed with this book series. It got to the point where I could find them with my eyes closed and was recommending it without having read it (if you know me, you know that this is totally not how I roll). It wasn’t until I started reading this novel that I realized I didn’t remember the full Rumpelstiltskin story…I do suggest you give that a read through, so it is easier to pick up the jokes and get further invested in the story.

Best Rumpelstiltskin GIFs | Gfycat

 

15766776Title: Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin

Author: Liesl Shurtliff

Summary:

Names have meaning in this world and are extremely important, so much so that lands and animals are not even deemed worthy of a name. It is from your name that you find your destiny, which is a major problem for Rump. His mother died as she was giving birth to him and didn’t fully complete his name. Rump is expected to live his life with a butt of a name. He is bullied by the other kids and struggles to help support his grandmother and himself. Something strange begins to happen when he touches his mother’s spinner. Rump finds that he can turn straw into gold. This power leads him down a dangerous path that might end with a young queen’s death and his owning a baby he doesn’t want. Rump is going to need to find a way to break the curse that is tied to his magic to keep everyone safe.

Have FUn Storming the Castle - Miracle Max for Valentines Day ...

Review:

This book was listed as a funny fairy-tale retell. I didn’t find myself laughing out loud, but the quirky characters did have funny aspects. I am assuming that the young readers love the butt jokes…cuz it’s the age. It was a solid story with a solid retell aspect. I am intrigued by the other characters, so I am willing to read more in this world.

Rating:

Image 5-15-20 at 9.53 PMImage 5-15-20 at 9.53 PMImage 5-15-20 at 9.53 PM

Leave a comment